Champagne Clément et fils

This family house invites you to dive into the heart of a terroir that is often overlooked in Champagne: the Coteau du Petit Morin.

Aurélien Clément, the 4th generation of winegrowers in the family, offers you the opportunity to discover this region and its terroir in a new light. Since 2013, this young winemaker has been striving to put craftsmanship and terroir at the very core of his work, giving birth to champagnes of unique character.



The origins of Champagne Clément and son


When he first joined the family estate, Aurélien could have gone in two radically opposed directions. The first, and by far the simplest, would have been to modernise the whole estate. But he preferred the second, following the path of tradition and craftsmanship. To understand this choice, we need to go back to the origins of this Champagne House.


It was at the age of 51 that Aurélien's great-grandfather decided to begin the adventure of winemaking. Back then, he was a farmer and dairy breeder in the south of the Champagne region and owned a few acres of vines from which he sold the fruits. He then set up his own vineyard and installed a traditional wine press before starting in 1958, under the name Champagne Henri Brulfert. He passed the brand on to his three daughters in 1975.




At the heart of Champagne Clément & fils' commitments


The love of working the land and the vines has been perpetuated from generation to generation until today. Proud of his family values, Aurélien and his family have kept numerous tools and traditional practices. This is illustrated by the traditional Champagne press acquired by his great-grandfather and still used by Aurélien. To this day, all the stages of champagne production are carried out exclusively by hand: bottling, riddling, disgorging and packaging.


On the vineyard side, herbicides have been banned since 2017, a first step towards the goal of transitioning to organic viticulture by 2020. This long and fastidious work, carried out with great attention to detail, allows Aurélien to maintain total control over the quality of his wines and to guarantee their utmost quality.

Champagne Clément et fils

Cette maison familiale vous propose de plonger au cœur d'un terroir souvent méconnu de Champagne : les Coteaux du Petit Morin.

Aurélien Clément, 4e génération de vignerons de la famille, vous propose de découvrir cette région et son terroir sous un jour nouveau. Depuis 2013, ce jeune vigneron s'efforce de remettre l'artisanat et le terroir au cœur de son travail, donnant naissance à des champagnes de caractère uniques.



Aux origines du Champagne Clément et fils


Lors de son arrivée sur l'exploitation familiale, Aurélien aurait pu prendre deux directions radicalement opposées. La première, et de loin la plus simple, aurait consisté à moderniser l'ensemble du domaine. Mais il lui a préféré la seconde, en suivant la voie de la tradition et de l'artisanat. Pour comprendre ce choix, il nous faut revenir aux origines de cette Maison de champagne.


C'est à l'âge de 51 ans que l'arrière-grand-père d'Aurélien décide de se lancer dans l'aventure de la vinification. À l'époque, il est agriculteur et éleveur laitier dans le sud de la Champagne et possède quelques arpents de vignes dont il revend les fruits. Il monte alors son exploitation viticole et installe un pressoir traditionnel avant de débuter en 1958, sous le nom Champagne Henri Brulfert. Il céda cette même marque à ses trois filles en 1975.




Au cœur des engagement du Champagne Clément & fils


L'amour du travail de la terre et de la vigne s'est perpétué de génération en génération jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Fier de ses valeurs familiales, Aurélien et sa famille ont su conserver énormément d'outils et de pratiques artisanales. En témoigne le pressoir traditionnel champenois acquis par son arrière-grand-père et encore utilisé par Aurélien. Aujourd'hui encore, toutes les étapes d'élaboration du champagne sont réalisées exclusivement à la main : mise en bouteilles, remuage, dégorgement et habillage.


Côté vigne, les herbicides ont été bannis depuis 2017, une première étape vers un objectif qui est la conversion vers la viticulture biologique à partir de 2020. Ce travail long et fastidieux, assuré dans un souci du détail, permet à Aurélien de conserver une maîtrise totale de la qualité de ses vins et d'en garantir l'extrême qualité.