The history of the Pertois Lebrun Champagne

The Pertois Lebrun House is located in the commune of Cramant, one of the most famous villages on the Côte des Blancs. Pertois Lebrun is a family business where traditions and ancestral know-how meet.
The history of the House dates back to the early 1900s, when the family began to develop and market their own Champagne wine. However, it was not until 1955, after the union of Paul Pertois, a winegrower from Cramant, and Françoise Lebrun, a winegrower from Mesnil-sur-Oger, that the Pertois Lebrun brand was created.
Since then, Pertois Lebrun has been passed on from generation to generation. Today, Clément and Antoine are the 5th generation of winegrowers.


A family know-how


Since the beginning of the last century, each generation has perpetuated the House's tradition by using only grapes from family vineyards. Today, the Pertois Lebrun House passionately produces champagnes called "Blanc de Blancs" (exclusively made from Chardonnay).

The philosophy of the House is based above all on respect for the plant and the soil, which is why it has chosen to practice sustainable viticulture. The family makes it a point of honor to produce only very high quality champagnes by limiting the use of chemicals as much as possible. The House's vines are ploughed, grassed and fertilized with organic fertilizers. .

By applying these methods, the Pertois Lebrun House voluntarily reduces the yields of the vine. All these precautions reflect on the quality of the grapes, which reveal an exceptional aromatic concentration, but also a diversity of parcels that has become rare in Champagne.

A terroir


The 9 hectares of Pertois Lebrun vines are spread over 5 large villages on the Côte des Blancs: Cramant, Le Mesnil-sur-Oger, Chouilly, Oiry and Oger. These villages are part of the 17 communes (out of a total of 320), enjoying the prestigious "Grand Cru" distinction.

The Côte des Blancs is the ideal land for the Chardonnay grape variety, offering the grapes the ideal conditions to reveal the finesse of their aromas. The predominance of chalk in the basements, the particularly mild climate and the hand of man, contribute to the development of Blanc de Blancs champagnes produced by this exceptional terroir. .

L’histoire du Champagne Pertois Lebrun

La Maison Pertois Lebrun est située dans la commune de Cramant, l’un des plus célèbres villages de la Côte des Blancs. Pertois Lebrun est une Maison familiale où se côtoient traditions et savoir-faire ancestral.

L’histoire de la famille remonte aux années 1900, époque à la laquelle elle élabora son propre vin de Champagne à partir des raisins provenant de ses vignes. C’est par l’union en 1955 de Paul Pertois, vigneron de Cramant, et de Françoise Lebrun, vigneronne du Mesnil-sur-Oger, que fut créée la marque Pertois Lebrun.

Depuis, la Maison Pertois Lebrun a été transmise de génération en génération. Ce sont aujourd’hui Clément et Antoine qui incarnent la 5e génération de vignerons.



Un savoir-faire familial


Depuis le début du siècle dernier, chaque génération perpétue la tradition de la Maison en n’utilisant que les raisins issus des vignes familiales. Aujourd’hui, Pertois Lebrun élabore avec passion des champagnes dits « Blanc de Blancs » (exclusivement assemblés à base de chardonnay).


La maxime de la Maison est avant toute chose le respect de la vie végétale et des sols. Animé par cette philosophie, le champagne Pertois Lebrun mène une viticulture raisonnée. La famille met un point d’honneur à ne produire que des champagnes de très grande qualité en limitant au maximum le recours aux produis chimiques. Les vignes de la Maison sont labourées, enherbées et fertilisées avec des engrais biologiques.


Par l’application de ces méthodes, Pertois Lebrun diminue volontairement la vigueur et les rendements de la vigne. Toutes ces précautions se traduisent dans la qualité des raisins qui révèlent une exceptionnelle concentration aromatique, mais aussi une diversité parcellaire devenue rare en Champagne.


Un terroir


Les 9 hectares de vignes Pertois Lebrun sont répartis entre 5 grands villages de la Côte des Blancs : Cramant, le Mesnil-sur-Oger, Chouilly, Oiry et Oger. Ces villages font partis des 17 communes (sur un total de 320), jouissant de la prestigieuse distinction « Grand Cru ».


Terre de prédilection du cépage chardonnay, la Côte des Blancs offre aux raisins les conditions idéales pour révéler la finesse de leurs arômes. La prédominance de la craie dans les sous-sols, le climat particulièrement clément et la main de l’homme, contribuent à l’épanouissement des champagnes Blanc de Blancs produits par sur ce terroir d’exception.